Shema in 2006?

“‘Hear, O Israel: YHWH our God, YHWH is one. You shall love YHWH your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your might. And these words that I command you today shall be on your heart. You shall teach them diligently to your children, and shall talk of them when you sit in your house, and when you walk by the way, and when you lie down, and when you rise. You shall bind them as a sign on your hand, and they shall be as frontlets between your eyes.'”

About thirteen years ago I underwent a minor procedure in which shallow incisions were made in my arm and a specially-formulated ink was introduced to the wound. Yeah. It wasn’t life-threatening; it was a tattoo. About a year later I had another shop build upon and embellish that particular tattoo.

Ever since that first day I’ve wanted more.

Has anyone else who reads this scratch had similar experiences? For the ink-free crowd, all I can say is that you don’t get it until you’ve got it. I honestly have no intention of covering my body with them, but there is something about getting it done. The experience of getting cut and having the tattoo is something I struggle to describe to those who haven’t.

My tattoo choices have been original Christian art. And in keeping with that practice, I have decided upon the subject of the next. This is where you, gentle readers, may choose to participate.

I am seeking out various artistic renditions of the Luther Rose from which I might choose for placement on the inside of my right forearm. If you are artistic and so moved, I invite you to design my next tattoo and post a link to the artwork in the comments section, or to provide a link to an existing rendition. Or if it would be easier, you may email a high-quality attachment as a .jpg, .gif, or .tif file to oldschoolconfessional[AT]gmail[DOT]com. Thanks.

3 Responses to Shema in 2006?

  1. Anonymous says:

    I’m having a little trouble with the whole phylactery/tattoo thing. Not sure that phylacteries were what the Law meant, not sure that a tattoo is either, pretty sure neither are something one does with the Messiah come.

    I’ve had a minor procedure done on my skin too. To take away a colored design, not put one on. Skin cancer. Love having my skin the way God made it.

  2. OSC says:

    I’m sorry. I wasn’t clear. It was meant to be a bit tongue in cheek. I don’t think the phylacteries are what was intended either. But I don’t know that tattoos are necessarily something that one doesn’t do with the Messiah come.

    And indeed, I will rejoice with you that your skin cancer has been irradicated, and I pray that it won’t trouble you again.–>

  3. wierman says:

    We’ve been a gaggle of volunteers and starting a brand new program in our area. Your website supplied us having practical facts to be effective in. You have done a strong occupation and your complete party can be grateful to you personally.

Leave a Reply

