Saddam is Dead

Have I any pleasure in the death of the wicked, declares the Lord God, and not rather that he should turn from his way and live?– Ezekiel 1823
Saddam Hussein has been executed. Most won’t miss him. I certainly won’t. But neither can I bring myself to rejoice in his death any more than I can condone rejoicing in any death. I understand it, but I can’t condone it. And while I can approximate understanding of those who even now are dancing in the streets, it sickens me at the same time.

Would that he would have gone to the gallows with a new faith in Jesus Christ instead of clutching a copy of the Qur’an.

His deeds were deemed by authorities to be worthy of death. Even a death such as that is tragic. Yet the greater tragedy is the eternal death suffered by those who die apart from Christ.

Leave a Reply

