Anima Sana In Corpore Sano

Go Fasters“A sound mind in a sound body.” I hadn’t ever noticed that the brand ASICS is actually an acronym, and a nice one at that. All I’d ever really cared to know was that they were fantastic shoes.

I used to go into your typical Foot Locker store (or the others like them) and buy whatever shoe felt decent at the time and fell within the old budget. Then one day I went to an actual running store–the kind staffed by people who are runners themselves (not just high school kids who dig Nike clothes who are in it for gas money and employee discounts). The gentleman asked me some questions, watched my stride, and presented me with three options. I settled on a pair of ASICS and have been in them ever since.

I’m not generally one to get too sentimental about things, but “go fasters” (I’ve come to appreciate the US Marine Corps’ name for running shoes) get me a little bit. I have put some significant miles on those shoes in some pretty varied, and at times significant (to me, anyway) places. There are memories attached to those shoes. The picture is of the last three pair I have worn, the GT-2080s, GT-2100s, the new pair of GT-2120s I just picked up this afternoon (and on sale!). As long as ASICS continues to produce this line, there will be no more guesswork to purchasing “go fasters” for me. I walk in to any shoe store, ask for the latest in the line, tell them my size, and walk out. It’s a beautiful thing.

2 Responses to Anima Sana In Corpore Sano

  1. Tim says:

    I’m with ya as far as ASICs go. Once I found them and used them,
    I’ve never strayed. I just ordered a new pair of 2120’s from Road Runner Sports.

    If you are looking for a decent online retailer, give RRS a shot, they’ve
    treated me well so far.

    – Tim

  2. OSC says:

    Thanks for the tip. I hadn’t actually considered this as an option, but since ASICS has wisely and helpfully chosen to keep the sizing identical and just build the line generationally, it would actually work to order shoes via the web. Too sweet. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

