Zoe

I actually love pre-marital counseling. In seminary Dr. Bryan Salminen used us, his students, in working out some of the kinks in his Zoe tool, a phenomenally insightful instrument for getting at the good, the bad, and the ugly in a relationship. The personal benefit is that each of us came away from the experience with the training needed to implement it. I use it as the backbone of my own premarital counseling. It pairs God’s Word with secular research and provides a great reflection of a relationship, getting to the very heart of the issues a couple may be facing. It makes for great pre-marital conversation. If pre-marital counseling is an aspect of your vocation, I highly recommend giving it a look.

4 Responses to Zoe

  1. anokihaish says:

    Using it right now with a couple, very helpful and insightful. I wish they’d “business” it up a little bit, though, better online training/field training on its use. I could use a refresher and all. But, as it is, great stuff.

  2. Some guy says:

    In a nod to anoki, that would be my biggest difficulty with Zoe. I didn’t come out of the class feeling like I really understood how to use it. I’ve since taken Prepare/Enrich training. Although the tools are quite similar I’m more inclined to use PE. Recently the seminary has offered an elective specifically on marriage and family counseling. I have some fantastic resources to suggest if you’re interested.

  3. OSC says:

    Sure, I’m always interested. But I’ll take Zoe to P/E any day of the week and twice on Sunday. Having gone through P/E when we were engaged, I was ready to drop kick it as a client. I don’t honestly remember much of the experience. Granted, it might have been due to the person who used it with us.

    I’ve even used Zoe for married couples who are struggling. I realize it’s not specifically designed for that application, but I’ve found that it really does help them see through to each other, and it provides lots of springboards into their issues.

    But absolutely, if you have resources I’d love to hear about them.

  4. Thanks for your wonderful insight, as with any form of life changing events we should always study and look for the right solutions and follow our hearts… and it is never to late to say “I am sorry” for anything! Healing takes time, but worth it when you can forgive others.

    Both premarital counseling and marriage counseling are great place to start to open the lines of communication. And as we know, that the lack of communication is the number one reason, relationships begin to fail…

    Thanks again,

    Howard

Leave a Reply

