Anonymous Posting

You do it. I do it. We all do it. I wasn’t born and baptized as OSC. It’s a pseudonym. Yeah, I know. Captain Obvious strikes again.

I’ve got a gripe about it, though. If you’re going to flame someone in cyberspace, have the guts to do it under your own name. The anonymity of this whole medium is probably the most dangerous part of it. Sure, it gives people the courage to communicate. But it also removes almost all accountability. It’s honestly probably one of my biggest challenges with this little project–to not sit back at my desk and fire away at anyone with whom I don’t agree, knowing that I won’t be called to answer for it.

Everyone and their grandmother has an opinion. Everyone generally comes down on one side of an issue. That’s fine. People have some cause to be critical. No problem. But if you’re going to bring accusations against someone on the Net, I hope you’ve first contacted them about your gripe. And I hope you had the integrity to do it under your real name. There’s a lot of airing of dirty laundry out here, and it’s ugly. It’s sin, and it doesn’t help anyone at all.

4 Responses to Anonymous Posting

  1. I’ve never had any issues with it… Tough to retaliate when they use a phony name.

  2. I rarely comment, but i did some searching and wound up here Anonymous Posting | Old School Confessional.
    And I actually do have a few questions for you if you
    usually do not mind. Could it be only me or does it give the impression like a few of the remarks look like they
    are coming from brain dead people? 😛 And, if you are writing
    on additional places, I’d like to follow everything fresh you have to post. Would you make a list of the complete urls of your social pages like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

  3. I’m not sure where you’re getting your info, but great topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more.
    Thanks for excellent info I was looking for this information for my mission.

Leave a comment